Why blog?

Hi there! If you happen to be passing along. Welcome, I'm Philip Balbas from the Philippines! Thank you for taking stopping by my blog!

I'm starting this blog to document my journey in improving my programming skills. I'll do this two ways, by finishing projects I have in mind and learning new tech. Both of these could be done simultaneously, but not exclusively, as I also want to figure out which tech stack is perfect for me in building my projects. Building software as a developer is a no-brainer. However, I am building a portfolio of products in hopes that I can monetize at least one of them. If that doesn't work out, at least I'll look somewhat attractive in the eyes of recruiters for a senior developer role.

I'd also like to improve my writing and communication skills. I want to convey my message clearly and concisely. I'd rather prefer that each of my blog posts be bite-sized and easy to read. Also, this will help me practice my script writing for when I hopefully eventually transition to video. I look up to content creators who have mastery of the English language and have their way with words. It leaves a mark when you hear or read word bites from their content.

I'd like to expand on my reasons, but I can leave that for another post.

I believe doing this will make me more accountable for my work. Anyway, that's that. I hope I don't disappoint myself and especially you, my dear reader, as I set off on this journey.